The place that lives up to it's name

The place that more than lives up to its name

A couple of weeks and a few posts in, I can’t resist it any longer – I need to write about yogahaven in Clapham and explain just why I’m happy to practically live there.

yogahaven is my yoga home – while I flirt with other studios, use them for workshops and interesting classes, it’s here that I have a membership (which is perhaps the only direct debit I never mind seeing flying out of my bank account) and will always visit a few times a week (it helps that it is mere stumbling distance from my flat). This is where I feel like I know the teachers and, more importantly, think that they know me. I hope in a good way…

The studio is one of four in the yogahaven family, there are two in Brighton and Birmingham and another London outpost up in Islington. The studio is primarily geared up for hot yoga and the hot studio space is huge with room for about 50 yogis (I found myself in a completely full class last January amongst a lot of good intentions) but with helpful mat spaces so you’re never too cramped. The thing I love about yogahaven is that they don’t just do one kind of hot yoga, but a variety of classes in the heat and of differing lengths. Plus there’s LOADS of them, every weekday the first class is at 6.45am and the last one at  8.15pm. So, erm, no excuses for me to miss a few days…

But that’s just the hot classes. The studio also has a light and airy upstairs studio where everything from Jivamukti to Ashtanga to restorative yoga takes place. It took me ages to venture into the upstairs classes. When I first joined I blindly thought that I’d only be getting my money’s worth if I did a hot session – how very wrong I was. Now I like to mix up with both hot and ‘upstairs’ (although often still v.sweaty) classes each week. They’ve also recently added to the schedule with more daytime and weekend classes so in the past couple of weeks I’ve got to try out Forrest yoga and mindful yoga for the first time. This is one love affair that’s definitely still keeping me interested 2.5 years in.

If you’re vaguely near SW4 (or sod it, even if you’re not it’s 2 mins from Clapham Common tube) you really must try this place out. Just don’t book up Jivamukti on a Wednesday before I do…

yogahaven Clapham, introductory 20 days for £25, classes from £14

