One of the great things about living in London is that there are always new things and places to explore – bars, restaurants, shops, exhibitions and, of course, yoga classes. The pop-up phenomenon, where a restaurant or shop opens for a set period in a temporary residence, has been around the the city for a while but recently it seems to have become prevalent in the yoga community. Which is why I’ve found myself twice in the past week on the overground to Shoreditch High Street (surely the spiritual home of the pop-up) before sunrise to try out classes that were only available fleetingly.

Yes, this counts as a yoga studio

Yes, this counts as a yoga studio

First up, a trip to The Old Truman Brewery for a 90 minute vinyasa class with Sarai Harvey-Smith at a pop-up alpine ski lodge complete with jacuzzis. Standard Tuesday morning…  I read about The Jacuzzi Club on the Time Out blog and when I saw that Sarai was teaching at 7am for the three days that it was open (for free!) I decided it was well worth setting my alarm for.

Sarai trained under Sri K. Pattabhi Jois in Mysore and, much to my delight, the class was very Ashtanga based. While a bar might seem a strange place for a yoga class, the dark wood room lit by candlelight  was very relaxing as the sun rose. At the back of the room was a selection of bubbling jacuzzis and, while I’d have liked to have seen the look on my boss’s face when I explained I was late for work because I’d been having a post-yoga hot tub, I sadly didn’t get the chance to try them out.

The stunning Boundary rooftop

The stunning Boundary rooftop

My second early morning trip East was on Friday to head to The Boundary‘s rooftop for a class hosted by Frame in Shoreditch.  As part of their Frame On The Move initiative, the studio has been running classes at Boundary every Friday throughout November and, based on the fact I could only manage to book for the very last one, they seem to have been enormously popular.

The rooftop is an amazing space to practice yoga with floor to ceiling windows. Light and airy and lit by the sunrise and fairy lights I had a great view of London during practice, even if it was a grey sky over offices and warehouses rather than anything more iconic.

The space is usually a restaurant and the kitchen was alive on arrival with everyone offered cups of green tea for during and after the class. As you’d expect at 7.30am in late November, it was cold outside and the heaters in the rooftop had been turned on so the room was actually a bit too hot and made the class more tricky than it could have been. My only other criticism was that the music used didn’t seem to be coming from a proper sound system. I couldn’t see what was used to broadcast it but unfortunately it sounded a bit tinny as though being played on a mobile phone…

Breakfast!

Breakfast!

The class attracted a mix of levels but was pitched so that everyone could work at whatever stage suited them. After class I grabbed another green tea, wrapped up in my coat and sat outside on the roof before heading downstairs to Albion to grab my breakfast of bircher museli and OJ that was included in the price of the class – more yoga should come with complimentary food!

Boundary Rooftop Yoga, £16 from Frame. Keep an eye out for more of their pop-up location classes.

