Not enough time on here...

Not enough time with this…

I have a bit of a confession to make. I’ve had a whole two weeks away from my mat.

I know that sounds over dramatic, and I’m certainly not someone who beats themselves up over not exercising every single day – I’ve had longer breaks through injury or holidays, BUT this break incorporated Christmas parties, birthday celebrations and a festive weekend away in Brussels where I survived off frites, beer, waffles and mulled wine. I basically couldn’t make class because I was either over indulging or suffering post over indulgence. Oops.

So when I went back to a 90 minute hot yoga class I wasn’t expecting it to be easy, but I don’t think I quite appreciated how hard I’d find it to get back into my routine. Here’s my honest view on what changed after two weeks of not hitting the mat…

– I was stiff. This is perhaps unsurprising, but I was considerably less supple than I’m used to being and felt like my body got stuck at points it would normally go past. It made the whole class a bit of a fight.

– I felt fat. I know, I know. I couldn’t have changed my body really significantly in just a couple of weeks of being piggy and not exercising, but I definitely felt less toned than normal. So much so that I *almost* walked into the pregnancy yoga class in the adjacent studio…

And too much time with these...

…And too much time with these

– My skin was spotty. I’d underestimated how much of an effect sweating has on keeping your skin clear, and when I also overloaded myself with bad food, it didn’t have much of a chance. So I got a whopping spot in the middle of my forehead. Fit.

– My mind wandered. I usually treat my yoga classes as an escape but today I just couldn’t focus. The only plus side was that I started planning this blog post.

– I felt tingly. The first time I took my boyfriend to a hot class he complained afterwards of his fingers and toes feeling tingly and a bit uncomfortable, like the early stages of pins and needles. I didn’t quite appreciate what he meant at the time but my god did I feel it here. I also felt a bit dizzy which wasn’t something I was used to; in fact I always used to dismiss people when they asked if hot yoga made you feel faint because I rarely felt it.

– I stank. I was sweating out far too much vin chaud and hot chocolate and it just really wasn’t pleasant.

The only slight hiccup is that the upcoming days are likely to pass in a bit of a Christmas eating and drinking haze, but I’m hoping my first class after that break won’t feel quite such hard work. I’d like to think that I’ve given myself enough of a scare not to fall into the December=binging January=berating cycle but if gym membership in the new year is anything to go by that’s easier said than done.

