I sort of, might have, maybe signed up for teacher training at the end of the year. After taking a couple of classes with Lizann from The Yoga People, she persuaded me that I should give their course a try. I decided the next one in April was too close for me to get my head round, but I’ve half agreed that I’ll be on their one in October (gulp).

20140215_130247~2

So the next few months might need to include a bit of studying, which is why I’ve dug out my copy of Yoga Anatomy and started trying to get my head around muscle groups and Sanskrit names. Yoga Anatomy is seen as one of the definitive yoga books. Written by Leslie Kaminoff and Amy Matthews, it was first published in 2007 and my second edition copy boasts on the cover that over 300,000 copies of the book have been sold. Mine was a present from my physiotherapist mother who seemed thrilled that for the first time in my life I was taking an interest in her area of expertise (biology homework used to often end in tears)!

It’s not surprising to see why it’s been so popular amongst yogis the world over – it’s a thorough, but clear, guide to all the main yoga postures along with a detailed look at breathing practices and the effects of yoga on the spine and muscles. The main bulk of the book is a breakdown of the various asanas, divided into standing, sitting, kneeling, supine, prone and arm support poses.

Each pose is given both its English and Sanskrit name with a handy pronunciation guide and explanation of the Sanskrit meaning. Yoga poses and names make a lot more sense once you know some of the basic meanings! For example bridge pose is explained as SET-too bahn-DAHS-anna with setu=bridge and bandha = lock. The asana then has a detailed drawing (there’s an interesting bit in the book’s introduction about how they did these) showing all of the muscles that are used, before breaking down the skeletal and muscular joint actions and general notes on the pose and the breathing.

It really is an invaluable tool and I can’t recommend it highly enough as an addition to any yogi’s library. It’s definitely helped me accelerate my yoga learning outside of the studio and I find it so useful to dip into. I suspect it could be even more well-thumbed come October…

Standard way to practice paschimottanasana...

Standard way to practice paschimottanasana…

P.S. In these pics I’m wearing a new Lululemon top which was I found in their bargainous We Made Too Much section on their website. Well worth checking out

