me

After my morning flow at Blue Cow Yoga I put in a dutiful morning in the office, before heading off for an afternoon of more Cheeky Yoga, courtesy of Lululemon who were hosting free classes at every main London studio last Thursday.

Thanks to my boyfriend’s very un-9-to-5 working hours he was able to join me so we trotted up to Marylebone to try out a 75 minute flow at Indaba. Indaba is somewhere I’d wanted to go for a while – it’s one of the city’s biggest and best known studios and has a great reputation. It’s located on three floors just round the corner from Marylebone station and its studios are huge. We were given a quick tour (the male and female changing rooms are located on different levels) and met back on our mats for class.

image

We had booked into Elisa Devlin’s flow class. I’ve done a few of her classes before and suspected we were in for a challenging and dynamic session…I was right! It was a fantastic opportunity to try a few new poses and the energy and standard of the yogis in the room made it easier to push and motivate oneself. Although I didn’t quite manage to replicate a classmate’s Ganda Bherundasana (a scorpion performed balancing on chin and hands – kudos!).

Indaba has a lovely chill-out space in their reception area where I waited with a cup of green tea and bumped into the lovely Charlie Morgan who was on her way into a class. The boy headed home (Spurs were playing) while I jumped on the District line all the way down to Parson’s Green and started to regret booking into three dynamic classes in one day…

TPYC

The Power Yoga Company was my last visit of the day and the smallest of the three studios I went to. While Blue Cow Yoga and Indaba are surrounded by offices, TPYC is in the heart of leafy Fulham and next to big Victorian houses. It’s a really cozy space, with one studio upstairs, a bigger one on the ground floor and a small cafe space serving what looked like yummy veggie food and drinks (I had a dinner to go to otherwise I’d have indulged).

TPYC2

The class was a strong one, with the room at a nice warm temperature, although I became more and more aware as it went on that I was in the middle of flow class number three (why oh why didn’t I end with a restorative one?!). If I’d known more ahead of time I probably wouldn’t have ended the day at TPYC just because they don’t have as much space for changing facilities as other studios, and, to be fair, in a more residential area this isn’t really as much of a necessity. Still I managed to make myself look respectable and headed back into town for a business dinner, where I ended my day of cheeky yoga with a cheeky glass or four of wine!

