Along with the welcome springing up of juice bars, juice cleanses (where one lives off prepared pressed juices for one or more days) have gotten increasingly popular recently. Barely a week goes by when I don’t see one of the juice delivery brands’ 3 day cleanses available as an offer on a voucher website.

Digestive aidAs much as I love my green juice, a couple of things have put me off ever taking part in a full blown cleanse. Firstly, they seem to be pretty expensive  (250 odd quid for three days of juice anyone?!). While I appreciate that that tends to include delivery, I’d always rather just trot round to Glo and pick up a few juices myself. Even at £5 a juice, I’d need to drink 16 of them a day for three days to spend the same amount. Secondly, the thought of drinking nothing but juice for more than one day doesn’t hugely appeal and, if I’m honest, wouldn’t be likely to happen. I treat my juicing as a (very welcome) addition to my diet, rather than the sole staple of it.

So when I heard that Lomax had an offer of juice cleanses for just £20 per day, and that you could pick how long it lasted for, I signed up straight away. Lomax is a fantastic private gym in the heart of Chelsea and one of my favourite places to work out when I’m cheating on yoga. They have a fab cafe and juice bar on the ground floor and I already knew how good their juice tasted, so the thought of living on it just for a day wasn’t too daunting at all.

My five bottles of juice were ready and waiting for me on arrival and the lovely chap behind the counter advised me that I could probably leave them in the fridge for a day or two before doing the cleanse if I needed to, which meant I could do it on a lazy Saturday rather than trying it in the working week. He also allayed my fears that I was wimping out by only doing the cleanse for a day, saying that a lot of their trainers only recommend and do it themselves for a day at a time.

My personal juice Everest...

My personal juice Everest…

My five bottles were Lomax’s signature juices Metabolism, Immune Booster, The Classic, and smaller bottles The Alkaliser and Digestive Aid. My only criticism is that there was no guidance on what, if any, order I should be drinking them in and not all of the bottles had the components listed on the bottle, so I didn’t always know exactly what was in each juice.

By doing the cleanse on a weekend, I was able to wake late and spread my juices out quite easily, starting with my first one while still in bed. A friend who had done a longer cleanse suggested the best way to do it was to sip slowly and make each juice last as long as possible so you always feel like you’ve got something on the go. I have to admit it was nowhere near as hard as I thought it might be, and I ended the day in high spirits (possibly thinking of Sunday breakfast, but still) and feeling pretty good, especially having thrown a hot yoga class into the mix on the day.

A Classic in bed. So to speak...

A Classic in bed. So to speak…

I still have no idea if I could manage more than one day without going slightly insane but I’d recommend Lomax’s one day cleanse wholeheartedly.

Lomax, 293 Fulham Road, SW10 9PZ. £20 daily juice cleanse part of its monthly Ladies Day offer.

